Beth Barron "Implosion 4" (detail)

Future Tense II

FUTURE TENSE II offered a glimpse into the future of contemporary fibers by presenting the very best work being made by students in the field today. November 5 – 29, 2018 at the George Caleb Bingham Gallery at the University of Missouri.

November 5 – November 29, 2018

George Caleb Bingham Gallery
School of Visual Studies, Art Program, University of Missouri

This second annual SDA Juried Student Exhibition coordinated with the Midwest Fiber Art Educator Network (MFAEN) conference November 9-11, 2018. The exhibition was held at the George Caleb Bingham Gallery in partnership with the School of Visual Studies, Art Program, University of Missouri.

Jurors Catherine Armbrust and C. Pazia Mannella selected work by 22 student artists. Future Tense II award winners are Sherry Saele (First place, $300); Percy Lam (Second Place, $200); Oxana Dallas (Third Place, $100); and Theo Bignon and Hannah Swaim (SDA Awards of Excellence).

Accepted Artists Included:

Nessi Alexander-Barnes (University of Missouri-Columbia), Théo Bignon (School of the Art Institute of Chicago), Riana Bovill (University of Missouri-Columbia), Prashani Chandrasena (Cranbrook Academy of Art), Rachel Cottingham (Fort Lewis College), Oxana Dallas Kent State University School of Art), Brianna Fischer (University of Wisconsin,Green Bay), Jessica Haden (Georgia State University), Lena Klett (Arizona State University),Jasmine Kornel (Kent State University), Bonnie (Bebe) Kuhr (College of Marin), Percy Lam (University of Hawaii at Manoa), Caleb McMurry (University of Missouri-Columbia), Mandy Pedigo (Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville), Samara Rosen (Cranbrook Academy of Art ),Sherry Saele (Oregon College of Art and Craft), Abigail Schnure (Kent State University), Lyndsi Schuesler (Cranbrook Academy of Art), Hannah Swaim (San Francisco State University), Anie Toole (Maison des métiers d’art de Québec), and Vanessa Viruet (Cranbrook Academy of Art).

Questions? Email us at